The Field Club Collection
Natural history provides a fascinating insight into the developments of origins, evolution, and the interrelationships of living things. This forms a biodiversity baseline that helps people to address important issues such as conservation and climate change.
Natural History Exhibits
The Llandudno Field Club was formed in 1906 by interested individuals to promote the study of the natural sciences and archaeology in the area. In 1933 the name changed to The Llandudno and Colwyn Bay District Field Club and boasted a membership of about 250. Along with their various studies, the club were also doers, being instrumental in getting the Cromlech on the Great Orme enclosed, the Bodafon Stone moved to Eglwys Rhos Church, the continuing protection of the rare Cotoneaster vulgaris plant, the ravens, and peregrine falcons of the Great Orme. Llandudno Museum has the larger part of the Society’s collection that has survived, from natural history items, archaeology, geology, and ethnic objects, not only from this area but from the rest of the world.